Balti-Birmingham

Search

Directory

Shabab

163 Ladypool Rd B12 8LQ Birmingham Phone: 0121 440 2893 This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it Website Authentic Balti: Yes
Credit Cards Accepted: Yes
License: BYO Google Search
Google Street
Want to rate this restaurant or write your own review? At the bottom of the page select a star rating or click the "write review" button and send us your thoughts!

Recently reopened after refurbishment.

9
Date added: 2009-10-27 12:53:39    Hits: 8996
8 
Lunch at Shabab
by Dave B
on September 21, 2014
I had lunch here for the first time and ordered Balti Chicken Tikka Masala Keea Jalfrazee - which really packs a punch. I always think it is the sign of a good Indian meal that it doesn't linger the day after, no matter how hot it is.

The restaurant was quiet, being lunchtime, so they can be forgiven for a not too crisp poppadom. Needless to say, service was impeccable.

I enjoyed their choice of back ground music.

Price wise it was good value and they helpfully offered to order a taxi for me.

Only two bits of feedback - iced in the water would have been nice and please move the collection collapsed cardboard boxes by the side of bar. The decor is top class, so don't spoil it
0 
TeflonTed on Tour
by TeflonTed
on February 24, 2014
Visited as a party of four Sunday evening.

Basics...first impression was of a very clean and smartly decorated place, and a decent welcome. Tables are glass topped with menus underneath, fairly traditional Balti House style.

Complimentary papadums and dips appeared swiftly without having to be asked for. At first glance the menus seemed a little different to the usual layout, no Prawn Puri or Nargis Kebab on the starters, and sundries listing breads and rice options but without the familiar side dishes such as mushroom bhaji, Bombay aloo etc. we found that these were all available, but listed as mains under the vegetarian section...I have no doubt side versions could be provided.

Mains were all served in traditional black Karahis straight off the gas range and searingly hot. Much amused when one our number got the Balti-Brand....a sharp little burn on the tender forearm from the rim of the dish...well, we were warned they were hot!

We had a variety of mains, a prawn saag, chicken jalfrezi, meat and mushroom and mixed tropical Balti. Mains were all offered as mild/medium/medium hot or proper hot, giving a decent range of choice. Madras, Vindaloo and Tindaloo options were listed at a small extra cost, we were not tempted. All were very well spiced, and everyone was happy with what they'd chosen. Breads were excellent, naans and parathas were light and well cooked, and a proper table naan option is available. We didn't test this since we each wanted different varieties. Sides of Tarka Dhall and a Raitha were also ordered, and were good. A chapatti was a good size, bigger than usual.

Desserts were offered, and the Barfi (chocolate or pistachio) and Gulab Jamun seemed home cooked. The others were the pre packed Kulfi/ cheesecake/coconut ice cream sort of offering, perfectly OK but certainly not home cooked. There were a couple of child friendly desserts available, and the vanilla ice cream served with the Gulab Jamun was top quality stuff.

The bill for 4 was £47.30, and seemed decent value for money. Also worth mentioning that the toilets were immaculate.

Overall, about as close to the old style traditional Birmingham Balti House as you will find these days, with very well prepared mains and exceptional breads.

Service and attitude were excellent, we got the impression that any special requests would not have been a problem. We would recommend the place unreservedly, but take notice when they tell you the bowls are hot, they ain't kidding!!
10 
by Andy
on December 25, 2012
Sorry if this sound biased as Shabab is one of my well publicised favourites but on Xmas Eve,I had one of my best meals ever.
The duo of sheekh kebabs were wonderfully flavoursome minced lamb with a spicy kick not for the fainthearted. My main was a simple Balti Chicken Rogan Josh but what a fabulously tasty mix of favours...and all without the need for a fluorescent Bangladeshi 'Jewel in the Crown' dayglo effect.A fresh and doughy garlic and coriander naan was just right for buffing the inside of the Balti bowl to a veritable shine.
The finishing touch of a wickedly rich chocolate barfi,sourced apparently from local supplier Mustaq's was a fitting end to a memorable meal and all for under £25 for two of us!
10 
Miss
by Amanda Richards
on July 14, 2012
Been going to Shebabs for years.Infact the whole of Balsall Heath know Shebabs.The food is great, the staff are brilliant and best of all it's open late.
0 
Great restaurant and great food
by Joe & Zi
on March 29, 2012
I visited this restaurant with my family after reading online reviews. I have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our experience at this eatery. The ambience was absolutely brilliant with bustling diners of most seemed to be regulars. The food is fresh and appetising. The service was pretty good too, although they were busy on the midweek evening, they still managed to take out time to have a conversation and made us feel very welcome.
Good work guys and we'll see you soon!
0 
by deb
on October 29, 2011
we went to the shabab i was not very impressed the place is nice and clean the staff friendly
We had Sheek kebab & chicken pakora starters which were lovley for mains we had a chicken balti and chicken tikka balti i asked for my chicken tikka to be asian style well it was not very hot or spicy both baltis were very salty which really spolit it will not go their again
4 
not as expected
by h khan
on September 13, 2011
thought I'd try out a restaurant from the balti triangle... hmmm... not as spicy as a balti should be... the appearance was nice and comfortable, the music was a bit too loud... a bit empty... didn't enjoy the food very much... Good for people who like mild dishes...
10 
Great balti restaurant in birmingham
by Saanya
on September 13, 2011
This restaurant was recommended to me by a work colleague. I pre booked our table of five for a Saturday evening and was spoken to with great mannerism. We arrived to a half full restaurant and were seated promptly as you would expect. The restaurant smelt lovely! Popadoms arrived with mint and onion dip with a dash of red sauce swirled in which I guess was chilli; refreshing!
Starters: tandoori fish, seekh kebabs, and a mixed grill were ordered which consisted of chicken tikka, lamb tikka and kebabs. The fish was light and flavoursome, seekh kebabs were spicy and juicy, almost melted! Chicken tikka and lamb tikka were tender and well cooked.
Mains: balti chicken&sag, balti lamb bhuna, chicken tikka masala & lamb trotters were ordered from the 'traditional favourites' menu. We were asked for our desired level of spiciness, we thought it would be safe to stick with medium as some restaurants blow your head off when you ask for a spicier dish. The mains arrived and were very enjoyable... may ask for the dishes to be hotter next time.
Will certainly visit Shababs again.
ps love their uniforms ;->
10 
Excellent Experience
by karl
on August 3, 2011
We chose Shabab's over the other Balti Restaurants for it's welcoming, bright and authentic decor and were glad we did!

Everyone was extremely friendly, polite, the service was great, the food served promptly and to top everything off absolutely delicious!

We ordered a variety of Balti's all served in authentic cast iron bowls, super fresh and all cooked to perfection accompanied with freshly baked nan bread; even my mother at 70 year old and a non curry eater ordered a vegetarian balti cooked by the chef to be none spicy and she loved it!

I'd recommend this place to anyone; we left totally satisfied and having enjoyed a really nice evening out. With the added bonus that it was well priced and the car park was just next door for an easy ride home.
10 
mr
by george everall
on June 26, 2011
I'm not big on words so my review will be short, but here goes.My wife and I went to the Shabab on Ladypool Rd with some friends last night.I have had some bad experiences with Indian food in the past and almost always suffer for the experience later.This was different, lovely fresh food, not overly spiced which we both thoroughly enjoyed. Everybody was friendly and the service was impeccable. Also it was so reasonably priced. Definitely going back!!!
Rate now:  
0
Powered by Sigsiu.NET RSS Feeds